top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrandi

Self-Love and Self-Care


Like many, I tend to place everyone’s needs above my own. This can be a benefit in my work as a life coach or my home life, since I am a wife and mother. However, too much self-sacrifice can be detrimental to overall health in the long run. Those of us in this position tend to forget that self-love and self-care are necessary in obtaining optimum health.

Self-love and self-care are very different things, but they go together. Self-love is how you feel about yourself. Self-care is doing activities that you enjoy or activities that improve your physical and/or mental health.

When you practice self-love and self-care, you relax and rejuvenate, which gives you the energy to deal with everyone else. If you don’t take time out for yourself, your overall health, energy, and patience suffers.

Another reason self-love is important is because how you see yourself tells others how to think about you. If you don’t love and respect yourself why should anyone else? How can you genuinely love someone else if you don’t love you? The simple answers are they won’t, and you can’t.

I used to think I knew what love is and that all the things I did for my spouse showed my love for him. But, after 8 years in a verbally abusive relationship, during which I lost all love and respect for myself. During our relationship, I became severely depressed and, many times, couldn’t even make it out of bed to take care of my children. I had to make the toughest decision of my life. I summoned up what little self-respect I had left, and I left him. That was the most important decision of my life. It was the beginning of my new life and a new me.

Since then, I have been in a healthy marriage for 17 years, had a wonderful daughter, improved my relationships with my sons, earned my life coaching certification, and earned my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees. None of which would have been possible with the previous version of myself.

I want to help you do the same. Whether you want me as your coach or not, you have free access to my videos and blog posts. I also wrote an ebook “Nutritional Knowledge for Newbies" available for purchase.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page