top of page
  • Brandi Moore

Learning How to Set Goals Part 3


(Knelser, 2009 [Image File]).

Setting and achieving goals motivates us to accomplish more because we become empowered and proactive, thereby becoming more successful. Setting goals allows us to consider and overcome potential barriers, as well as allowing us to determine what values are important to us (Turkay, 2014). For example, I was trudging through life with no long-term goals. I was living day-to-day just surviving, destined to be a waitress for the rest of my life (as I had no other discernable skills). I wanted more, but I just did not know what I wanted or even how to accomplish acquiring the skills even if I did. Soon after this conversation with myself, I had an epiphany: I wanted to go to school to learn how to help people. Then, I was faced with barriers: How can I afford it? It has been so long since high school, can I even do it (I did not do well in high school)? So, I faced one barrier at a time, overcame them, and completed my Bachelor’s in Complementary and Alternative Health four years after I made my decision.

My goal was both personal and academic: I wanted to go to school and earn my degree, mainly to prove to myself that I could, but also to prove to my children that anything is possible at any age. Also, I wanted a Bachelor’s degree, which required a four-year commitment. This goal followed the S.M.A.R.T. guidelines and was attainable.

Specific: Earn my Bachelor’s

Measurable: Within four years

Achievable: With hard work and determination I could earn my degree in four years.

Realistic: Yes, it is realistic that I can expect to complete this goal.

Timely: This was a long-term goal that took several short-term goals to achieve.

Your assignment will be in three parts:

  1. Use mind-mapping or brainstorming to come up with three goals: either personal, professional, or academic. Also, respond to either the instructor or peers for the group discussion for a total of at least two responses.

  2. Seriously consider each goal and determine if the goals can apply to each letter in the acronym S.M.A.R.T..

  3. Write down any fears or roadblocks that may interfere with you achieving these goals and how they can be overcome (added to your mind-map for an above average grade). Also, consider whether you will be accomplishing these goals alone or with a support system in place, as this may help or hinder your success (Joyce, n.d.).

You can review the entire course here:

References

Joyce. (n.d.). No Pain, No Gain Goal-Setting Activities that Get Results. Retrieved on July 20, 2017 from http://busyteacher.org/11399-teach-goal-setting-activities-get-results.html

Knelser, M. (2009, May 6). Smart goal setting concept [Image File]. Retrieved July 10, 2017 from https://www.flickr.com/photos/marykneiser/5450281626/in/photolist-9iC7QS-qBtLBb-92ec1D-S4qqSA-efwW9b-n9qmEi-eBfrMH-9PEL5o-UWJkdN-dnpMF8-iQHKaC-iz2nbg-ikHNNn-fjJhQC-aWEfwc-aBTFH-UssYt7-oFvwU5-96eKN4-9da4ep-W5NEHP-7p2qce-V96stK-jRAdmR-VhRQao-b6U8Bn-W5NEPa-UtXfNJ-LS9Cq-oU5L2s-dckQ9C-qKgotY-7JCrh6-RGCa2p-72bNTk-p6RUuh-TdGNcG-bjC9tr-9RM9zZ-9dbuky-96TSLj-aUY3q6-btCqUv-U9kHQ5-nqnhD6-9rZS7P-6xoR8m-UZ54S9-EYkm2C-9THPsR

Turkay, S. (2014). Setting Goals: Who, Why, How?. Manuscript.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page